Purpose

For a little while,
My breath belongs to you,
my heart, my soul.
You are my purpose,
the purpose given to me
from The Creator.

For a little while,
I hold you in my arms,
my heart, my child.
I teach you of the world.
I help you see through my eyes
so you can see through yours
and marvel at Life's miracles,
and teach me to do the same
all over again.

My purpose grows with you,
and carefully I learn 
to untangle my fingers from yours.
I watch you from a distance,
and marvel at Life's miracle
once more.

As your purpose grows
and becomes apparent,
mine shifts,
and my heart grows bigger to hold 
the new love blossoming 
therein.

-Nichelle Lei
https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/purpose/ 
 





2 thoughts on “Purpose

Leave a Reply

