Profound Words

 

They find me

under the covers

at night,

speeding through thoughts

behind the wheel,

always nipping at my heels.

They climb inside my head

and scream,

"Write me..."

I run from them,

and I love them so

I cannot decipher

which part of them

begins and ends 

apart from me

and which part

makes up myself.

Can I live a full life

without these words,

in human form,

finding their way to paper?

If I find myself 

taking my last breath,

knowing I have not 

given them the life 

they wanted

(still screaming 

and trying to 

bleed out of 

my fingertips

through

the swirls 

and unique 

shapes that

name me,

make me 

Me),

will I have failed?

If I'm the only one

who ever knows them

will my life have 

been profound?


-Nichelle Lei 



write image

Profound
Leave a Reply

