Daily Prompt: Surface

Surface
I bubble up to the surface 
chasing the orbs that 
slip from my mouth.
I wish it were fear.
I wish it were anger.
I wish it were pain
escaping me.
I dive down again.
I could stay
on the bottom
of this pool
forever,
staring up
at the surface
where life occurs.
It happens.
Life.  
Often it hurts.
The water feels safer,
an amorphous embrace.
Like a mother's womb.
I could stay,
if it weren't for 
this weakness;
the need 
for life, 
for air,
for the burning
in my lungs
to subside,
the need to see
with wet eyes
what waits for me
up there.
That life,
malformed and wavy
through a watery frame
stares down
at me 
from the surface,
taunting me.
You need me.
You breathe me,
and sometimes
You love me.
Curiosity grabs me.
I bubble up to the surface 
chasing the orbs that 
slip from my mouth.

-Nichelle Lei

 

via Daily Prompt: Surface
Leave a Reply

