Daily Prompt: Moon

20160718_030119871_iOS
Moon, 
you followed me,
across the State line,
hidden and demure
in the day's
light.
So faint
and silent,
hovering o'er me
unseen,
as I,
distracted
by the music
fading in and out
through my stereo
speakers,
raced on,
oblivious.

Down the road,
I felt your gaze
and met it.
I wondered upon
you.
Your face...
was brighter
in the fading light,
glowing 
with the
knowledge
that 
night
was just around
the corner.

I forced my eyes
back onto the 
blacktop 
to break 
the spell.
Your 
light
is 
so 
dangerous.

-Nichelle Lei

via Daily Prompt: Moon
Leave a Reply

